Enrolment and School Zone


All students who live within the home zone shall be entitled to enrol at the school.  The home zone extends from the intersection of Homewood and Kaiwhata Road to the sea.  The zone continues south along the coastline to a point opposite the southern end of Glenburn Road. Here the zone turns west to the intersection of Hinakura Road, Moeraki Road and Bush Gully Road. The zone then turns northwest to Taylors Bridge (the bridge south of Whakarua Road) on Te Whiti Road. 

The zone then continues in a northwest direction to the intersection of Foreman Jury Road and Ponatahi Road. The zone includes all of Foreman-Jury Road. The zone continues along Ponatahi Road, then Carterton- Longbush Road also known as Kokotau Road (Opuakaio Road is included) then east along Woodlands Road also known as Tiffan Road and south along Carterton-Gladstone Road, to the corner of Carters Line.  The zone then continues north to the intersection of Mania Road and Te Whiti Roads including Te Whiti Settlement Road (Dakins Road and East Taratahi Road are not included). 

The zone continues along Te Whiti to include Cavelands Road, Te Kopi Road (and all roads which exit off it). The zone then continues east along Tupurupuru-Te Wharau Road and all roads which exit off it (except Westmere Road). The zone continues east from the end of Tupurupuru-Te Wharau Road onto Kaiwhata Road till it intersects with Homewood Road. Proof of residence within the home zone may be required at your enrollment visit.  



Children can be enrolled at school as per our Cohort Entry Procedure**.  We encourage children to have a pre-enrolment visit(s) before enrolment day. Please make a phone call to the Principal before you wish to enrol your child so that enrolment information and a visit to the junior syndicate can be arranged.

**Cohort entry is when New Entrants (Y1) start school in groups through the year, at either the start of each school term or the mid point of that term, rather than on their fifth birthday.

From 1 January 2020, changes made to the Act (through the Education Amendment Act 2019) took effect so that:  children start school in cohorts but only after they have turned 5.  There will be 2 entry points per term, one on the first day of term, and one at a mid-point during a term.  You can always choose to delay the child’s start until the beginning of a later term or until age six if you are concerned about their readiness for school.

Term Dates

*The mid-point of each term will be the Monday nearest to halfway between the first and the last day of the term. If Monday falls on a public holiday the next working day will be used as the mid-term date.